1. Home
  2. //
  3. Who We Are
  4. //
  5. Staff & Vestry

Staff & Vestry

The Rev. Seldon M. Walker

The Rev. Seldon M. Walker


The Rev. Seldon M. Walker began his service at Grace in mid-August 2020. He is a lifelong Virginian and Episcopalian. Seldon holds a B.S. in Geological Sciences from James Madison University, where he met his wife April (who also earned a B.S. in Geological Sciences before earning a M.A. in teaching, also from JMU). Prior to seminary at Virginia Theological Seminary Seldon worked as a geologist and later as an environmental specialist with a focus on environmental policy, permitting and regulation. Before being called the Grace, Seldon served as an associate priest at Historic Christ Church in Alexandria. Seldon and April have twin boys, Levi and Hayes.

Seldon’s day off is Friday.

Email: rector@GraceChurchYorktown.org
Phone: 757.898.3261 ext. 130

Suzanne Daniel

Director of Music

Suzanne Daniel has been leading various choirs and making music with the people of Grace since 2008. She wears many hats, including the “Sunday tech” hat the pandemic tossed her way. While her primary instrument is the bassoon, you’ll usually witness Suzanne sharing her talents vocally as well as on our church’s organ, the piano and flute.

Email: music@GraceChurchYorktown.org
Phone: 757.898.3261 ext 120

Lisa Wood

Finance Director

Lisa Wood returned to Grace, where she’s been a member for over 20 years, as its finance director in October 2021. Lisa has 30 years’ experience in various business roles, including accounting, auditing and computer programming. Animals are her passion and in addition to working at Grace she also works part time for Heritage Humane Society.

Email: finance@GraceChurchYorktown.org
Phone: 757.898.3261, ext. 150

Bob Frady


Bob Frady has been a member of Grace since 1994 and is known around the Peninsula (along with his wife, Alice) for his immense volunteer efforts and thoughtful leadership, often with nonprofit finances.

Email: treasurer@GraceChurchYorktown.org

Elsa Bakkum, M. Div

Resident Spiritual Director

Email: ebakkum@cox.net

Brenda Moore


Email: archives@GraceChurchYorktown.org

Diana Mason-Smelt

Database Manager

Email: data@GraceChurchYorktown.org

Kim Lenz

Communications Coordinator

Kim Lenz has served in this role since October 2019.

Email: communications@GraceChurchYorktown.org
Phone: 757-898-3261 ext. 110

Pam Foster

Facilities Manager

Email: facilities@GraceChurchYorktown.org

Dr. David Miller

Cemetery Director

Email: cemetery@GraceChurchYorktown.org


Grace’s Vestry is its lay leadership. Here, four parishioners are typically elected by the parish annually for a three-year term; a total of 12 (sometimes more, sometimes fewer) parishioners make up the Vestry and serve staggered terms. These people have three basic roles: to take care of parish finances and buildings, and to choose various leaders (like the rector) and representatives (like the parishioners who serve as Grace’s delegates to the annual diocesan convention). Leading the Vestry is the Senior Warden, who is elected by Vestry peers, and the Junior Warden, who typically assumes oversight of the campus buildings and grounds. Each Vestry member serves on a commission dedicated to a different aspect of church activity. The Vestry meets at 6:30 p.m. the third Monday of the month.

Grace’s commissions, which changed at the beginning of 2021 and are to be considered a work in progress to better reflect the work of this parish and its people, are: Stewardship, Mission, Worship, Christian Formation, Shepherding, and Mission.

The current Vestry and their commission assignments are:

  • Senior Warden Marlene Bryan
  • Junior Warden David O’Brien (Stewardship – Building and Grounds)
  • Jerry Twigg (Stewardship – Endowment, Planned Giving)
  • Matt Chamberlain (Stewardship – Annual Giving)
  • Bonnie Baffer and Jim Giesken (Mission)
  • David Douglas (Worship)
  • Christine Mahan, Diana Mason-Smelt and Ellen Thacker (Christian Formation)
  • Ed James and Kim Lenz (Shepherding)